ARIAH logo

Association of Research Institutes in Art History

ARIAH Prize for Online Publication


ARIAH invites nominations and self-nominations for the ARIAH Prize for Online Publication. This award, which carries a $1,000 prize, seeks to encourage and promote high scholarly standards in online publishing in all fields of art history. The prize is awarded annually to the author(s) of a distinguished article or essay published online in the past three years in the form of a peer-reviewed e-journal or other peer-reviewed, short-form e-publication that advances the study of art history and visual culture. The article should either appear exclusively online or should be substantially distinct from any print version.

The competition is open to anyone, with the exception of ARIAH’s Board of Directors and individuals who have participated in meetings of ARIAH within the last three years. Entries may be submitted by the author(s), or by others nominating authors for the prize, including publishers. Entries must be accompanied by the ARIAH Prize Entry Form. Entries will be judged by a committee of ARIAH members.

Online publications must have appeared within three years of the submission date. All languages will be considered, but non-English submissions must also provide an English translation. Viable non-winning submissions will be reconsidered in subsequent years.

Closing date for entries: December 31, 2016. Prize-winners will be notified by February 28, 2017. Please direct any questions to

2016 Online Prize Winner

2015 Online Prize Winner

2013 Online Prize Winner